Economic Control

It is obvious that the donors will demand economic control.
Based upon what I claim to be very bad experience at the SOS-villages at Zanzibar and in Lesotho, I strongly advice that “inspections” should be random and without previous notice.
Further details, I will leave for those representing the donors.

In order to avoid racial comments in connection with the terrible question “You and We” – “Luxury and Poverty”, I may suggest that the “inspector” should be an African, not coming in a nice and expensive car.

Economic Planning

A project as the proposed will need proper planning and a proper cost-estimate.
Unfortunately I am not the best and the material I collected, long time ago, may have been eaten by the termites.
I will try to recreate the interactive Excel-program I had before it disappeared into nothing.
Unfortunately it can not be presented using the WordPress format, I have used.
If I am successful you may get a copy by e-mail, if you write to me at thorkilsoee@gmail.com
Similarly, I will try to make a “project-schedule”, as advocated by almost all donors.
Until this: I have tried to write something on http://wp.me/s1RKWc-53

Children’s Involvement

Patric v. Rensberg, and probably many others, have seen beginning and even destructive grievances.
Soon the children start to demand luxury and continue to accuse the staff of stealing the money meant for them.
Unfortunately it may be true – at least sometimes.

Children’s Parliament

In my opinion it should be possible to reduce or even eliminate this risk with children’s involvement in economic control:

  • Each family group selects one or two members to “The Children’s Parliament”.
    I can not give details, but I think short-term “service” and frequent reelections with new representatives will be the best.
  • This Children’s Parliament should select, say two members, who shall follow, help and somehow even monitor the staff-member, when he/she is buying and collecting food or the similar for the project.
    Next time, probably some other children.
  • These children shall help the staff-member for control of prices and quality. Even checking the recepts.
    Then, when back home, they shall help and check the entrances in the accounts.

In my opinion, something like this will not only reduce the risk of grievances.
It will also be a good background for understanding of arithmetic and bookkeeping.

The Children’s Parliament should also be involved in different decision making.
As soon as possible, and as much as possible.

Proper Bookkeeping

If you read Patric v. Rensberg’s book you will see that he uses a lot of paper to discuss the economic feacability of his efforts.
In this way, he evaluated, especially the possibilities for continuation and expansion.

Without being the best, I suggest that the project keeps the advanced “double-accounts”.
And that everything given to the project as a gift is accounted for as income.

Take it or leave it

Unfortunately I will continue to say that it is important not to give in and start to “give luxuary”.
It may even be necessary to say:

  • The donors gave money to you because we told them that we will only spend money on what is really necessary – – –
    (Somehow a quote from Patric v. Rensberg.)
  • Shall we listen to what you told us when you came?
  • If it is so bad here, we will not keep you as a prisoner here.

Also for this reason it is important that the staff live a modest life.
I must admit, that I have not done as I should have done.

The “Chicken-boy”

At least once I have witnessed how voluntary involvement in a specific task brought a boy out of “nothing” to selvrespekt and involvement.
See http://wp.me/s1RKWc-62
Patric v. Rensberg’s brigades may be another example.

